Pixar to Receive This Year’s Dartmouth Film Award

Email ThisPrint ThisDeliciousDigg ThisGoogleShare to FacebookLinkedInRedditStumble ItShare to Twitter

Pixar, the Bay Area-based animation empire whose 14 feature films in 18 years—including the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, Up, WALLE and Brave—have earned 30 Academy Awards, seven Golden Globes, 11 Grammys, and a worldwide box office of more than $8.3 billion, will receive the Dartmouth Film Award from the Dartmouth Film Society in a ceremony this weekend.

Monsters University

Pixar’s latest animated film is “Monsters University.” (Photo courtesy of Disney*Pixar)

The presentation of the award will take place at 7 p.m. on Sunday, October 13, in Spaulding Auditorium in the Hopkins Center. The event will include the screening of a 40-minute “compilation reel” of great moments from Pixar films, plus 15 minutes of bonus footage and a half-hour of onstage conversation with Pixar’s Dan Scanlon and Kori Rae, the director and producer, respectively, of Monsters University.

Since its founding in 1979 as a computer-graphics effects lab for Star Wars director George Lucas’ Lucasfilm, Pixar has become a pioneer in the production of technology for computer graphics and animation. Even more, however, the studio has become known for its superb storytelling.

Pixar’s 14 feature films began with Toy Story in 1995, followed by A Bug’s Life in 1998; Toy Story 2 in 1999; Monsters, Inc. in 2001; Finding Nemo in 2003; The Incredibles in 2004; Cars in 2006; Ratatouille in 2007; WALL•E in 2008; Up in 2009; Toy Story 3 in 2010 and Cars 2 in 2011; and, in 2012, Brave, the first Pixar film with a female central character.

All of the films produced by Pixar are among the top 50 highest-grossing animated films of all time, and three were among the top 50 highest grossing films of any genre. Since the inauguration in 2001 of the Academy Award for Best Animated Feature, most of Pixar’s films have been nominated, with six winning: Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Ratatouille, WALL-E, Up, and Toy Story 3. Up and Toy Story 3 are two of only three animated films to be nominated for the Academy Award for Best Picture. In September 2009, five top Pixar executives were presented with the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement by the Biennale Venice Film Festival.

The Dartmouth Film Award was established in 1979 to honor outstanding contributors to the world of film and filmmaking. The first recipient was Lillian Gish. Other recipients include Michael Powell, Johnny Depp, Robert Redford, Liv Ullman, Ken Burns, Stephen Frears, Glenn Close, Peter Greenaway, and Meryl Streep.